Canada
tobefluent.com
Joined 3957 days ago

949 posts - 1686 votes 
Speaks: French*, English*, Spanish
Studies: Tagalog

Message 9 of 23
29 July 2013 at 2:48pm | IP Logged 
I think that it's key to understand your motivation. If I were studying Spanish just to
study it, I don't think I'd last long. But I'm studying Spanish so that I can talk to
people. And because talking to people is my goal, I spend a good chunk of my time talking
on Skype with language partners. And because I want to be able to actually say stuff to
my language partners, I'm much more motivated to study.

Instead of starting with a schedule, why don't you start with your motivation and work
backwards?
1 person has voted this message useful

kujichagulia
Japan
Joined 4660 days ago

1031 posts - 1571 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese, Portuguese

Message 10 of 23
29 July 2013 at 3:30pm | IP Logged 
Stelle wrote:
I think that it's key to understand your motivation. If I were studying
Spanish just to
study it, I don't think I'd last long. But I'm studying Spanish so that I can talk to
people. And because talking to people is my goal, I spend a good chunk of my time
talking
on Skype with language partners. And because I want to be able to actually say stuff to
my language partners, I'm much more motivated to study.

Instead of starting with a schedule, why don't you start with your motivation and work
backwards?

Oh, that's easy. I live in Japan, therefore I need to know Japanese. Simple as that.
I want to be able to talk to the people around me, read the newspapers, watch the TV
programs, etc., etc. I've spent years here doing on-again, off-again studying of
Japanese, but what keeps me coming back is the motivation to learn Japanese so that I
can communicate with people around me.

In the past year, I've made it a point to talk to people in Japanese as much as I can.
I talk to my neighbors, I talk to fellow teachers at the school where I work, I talk to