142 messages over 18 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 17 18
tarvos
Super Polyglot
Winner TAC 2012
China
likeapolyglot.wordpr
Joined 4516 days ago

5310 posts - 9399 votes 
Speaks: Dutch*, English, Swedish, French, Russian, German, Italian, Norwegian, Mandarin, Romanian, Afrikaans
Studies: Greek, Modern Hebrew, Spanish, Portuguese, Czech, Korean, Esperanto, Finnish

Message 137 of 142
26 August 2013 at 12:52pm | IP Logged 
I'm not offended, I just don't think it's worth splitting hairs over how much words you
know when you can confidently speak anyway. If I don't know obscure word X then that
isn't a sign of my inability to speak Lojban, it just means I didn't come across a
certain context in which to use word X.

I could reach a C2 level in Russian, but when am I ever going to use those skills? Only
if I'm basically a permanent resident of Russia or consistently using the language in
all environments every day. Not the case. If I get to a very good conversational level
and can use it for all basic environmental needs including writing (like I can now) I'm
super happy. But if I mess up a verb aspect, or a declension after a preposition, or
whatever, well c'est la vie. Only people who pretend to be computers didn't just
understand that utterance (unless it was really ridiculous).

I have six or seven languages in which I can communicate pretty well. I like pretty
well. It's a nice level. In some languages I would like to communicate better, in
others I don't give a flying f**k, in others I can't communicate as well as I would
like to and in some languages my level is overkill. Whatever. I have what I've got, I
can make it better if I want to, and if I don't want to, then I don't. And if I have
particular projects I'll focus on those but since I have a goldfish attention span and
quickly drift off into my own world that can last anywhere from a minute to six months.
And I need the freedom to be that independent.
5 persons have voted this message useful

cacue23