United States
HowToLanguages.comRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4489 days ago

335 posts - 594 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, German
Studies: Spanish, Mandarin, Persian

Message 9 of 44
01 November 2013 at 6:39pm | IP Logged 
I write extensively in dialogue and monologue form in my target language(s). I use them as a "written fluency" excercise as I try to think as fast as I can write. I don't have them corrected usually (unless I am brand new in the language) but I do go back and revise them, re-read them and sometimes re-write them. I find that this not only helps my writing, but also has an impact on my spoken fluency as it encourages me to "speed up" my thinking process as far as output.

Oftentimes, the dialogues mirror conversations I had in English that day with friends or co-workers. This keeps my vocabulary up to par in the topics I discuss on a daily basis. I probably spend close to an hour a day writing like this.

5 persons have voted this message useful

kujichagulia
Japan
Joined 4647 days ago

1031 posts - 1571 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese, Portuguese

Message 10 of 44
02 November 2013 at 4:45am | IP Logged 
Medulin wrote:
If I were to write dialogs from Brazilian soap operas and send them to native speakers dealing with grammar, what I would receive from them would be something very strange no native speaker uses in the spoken language in daily life.
I did this once, a long time ago, and all those CHEGAR EM, ME DIZ!, VI ELE came back crossed and corrected to CHEGAR A, DIZE-ME, VI-O etc etc. So, better not to take this path.

There's a reason why some languages (Finnish, Czech, Brazilian Portuguese, Swiss German, Tamil, Arabic) like to keep the written and the spoken form apart.
So, writing down a dialog is something that would not look nice to many native speakers, since dialogs are never supposed to be written in the 1st place!