Jeffers
United Kingdom
Joined 4669 days ago

2151 posts - 3960 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Hindi, Ancient Greek, French, Sanskrit, German

Message 1 of 164
16 January 2014 at 8:28pm | IP Logged 
I'm starting my first language log thanks to the 2014 TAC challenge. I'm on the 2nd French team, formed by Songlines.

My focus this year is going to be French, but I plan to spend significant time on Hindi as well. At some point in the near future I want to tackle Assimil Sanskrit, so ironically, for learning Sanskrit I will need to spend more time on French than on Hindi!

I started studying French seriously in the summer of 2011. Here's a summary of some of the resources I have used (sort of in order of when I used them):

• Frenchpod 101. I started with this, but got to about the 10th beginner lesson before getting tired of it. It has its use, but there's just too much banter and chat (which I felt was a misguided attempt to make it seem approachable and fun).
  • Assimil New French with Ease. I started this a month or two after I started learning French, and I have been working on it in fits and starts. Despite my pace with it, I think it is a great course, especially for the quantity of quality audio. I make a habit of listening a lot to the audio for review and preview. Formally, I am on lesson 89 of the passive wave.
  • Michel Thomas. I have only used the Foundation. I found it easy, but don't like the fact that he encourages you to fudge gender.