Joined 3591 days ago

84 posts - 94 votes 
Speaks: Danish*, English, German
Studies: Italian

Message 41 of 63
26 January 2015 at 11:38am | IP Logged 
carlyd wrote:
@Ccaesar--thank your for the advice.

So it's something like 45 days since I started learning German. I went through the
"everybody's so much more advanced than me" stage, then the "everybody is learning
faster than me" stage. Got to hurry up!! Got to catch up!!

I've calmed down. My German journey is for the whole year of 2015. I don't want to
hurry to the next lesson, the next chapter, the next book. I want anything I learn to
be totally learned, never forgotten.

I've sorted out my learning-alone style. If I can hardly speak English in the
morning, why would I think I could leap up and do 5 lessons of Assimil before
breakfast?

Now I do quiet-time workbook writing early in the morning, textbooks and talking later
in the day. And a probably 3-month learning schedule spread out over the whole year.
I'm ok with that.

I'm doing pronouns right now. Nominative and accusative. They were easier in
Spanish--probably because I didn't know what they were called and it was just "this is
how you say it". Sometimes I think the Spanish books are a bit more user-friendly
than the German books. Or they seem that way to me.

I looked at the Deutsch im Blick website yesterday. I like the videos--very short,
interviewing several German people and then several German language students, all the
same questions. It gives the script in both German and English. I could understand
the language learners a lot easier because they spoke much slower but it gives you the
opportunity to play the videos over and over. I'll go there often just for that.

Their website: http://coerll.utexas.edu/dib/

It sounds like you have a structured plan, splendid! ;)

The German syntax can be a bit tricky, but it is actually quite good, because it
species everything. I think I have a table lying around with the basics about where to