Bilingual Diglot
United States
Joined 6471 days ago

33 posts - 41 votes
Speaks: English*, Armenian*
Studies: French

Message 1 of 23
07 October 2006 at 2:30am | IP Logged 
Why is french comprehension so difficult when compared to other languages? I've been studying french for about 5 months now, and I feel I'm making great progress; but comprehension is very difficult.

What's the best way to work on this?
1 person has voted this message useful

Coovertown
Diglot
Groupie
United States
Joined 6517 days ago

57 posts - 58 votes 
Speaks: Korean, English*
Studies: French

Message 2 of 23
07 October 2006 at 5:49am | IP Logged 
I'd say it's because of various factors.

For one thing, it's not a phoenetic language. Secondly, pronunciation is different from that of English. The last reason I can think of is because speakers of another language will forever find something different and new in the language of study, thus making the language "hard" to understand.

lengua
United States
polyglottery.wordpre
Joined 6472 days ago

549 posts - 595 votes 
Studies: French, Italian, Spanish, German

Message 3 of 23
07 October 2006 at 9:55am | IP Logged 
I wouldn't necessarily call it difficult to understand - at least not any more than the average Romance or Germanic language. It's all about practice, and exposure. How much time do you spend listening to French every day? I'm talking Spoken live French, as in what you hear on the radio, or in person. If you're fully immersed in the language, it might still take a while, but you've just got to keep at it. As always, figure out if it's an issue of structure, vocabulary, or accent, and focus on the skill you need to improve the most.

linguanima
Bilingual Tetraglot
Australia
Joined 6506 days ago

114 posts - 123 votes 
3 sounds
Speaks: English*, Mandarin*, Spanish, French
Studies: Italian, Latin, German

Message 4 of 23
08 October 2006 at 1:33am | IP Logged