Joined 5323 days ago

113 posts - 133 votes 
Speaks: Mandarin*, Japanese, EnglishC2
Studies: FrenchC1, German, Norwegian

Message 33 of 57
29 March 2010 at 5:19am | IP Logged 
Fasulye wrote:
m32amir wrote:
I started learning German and Portuguese after I turned 20. I'm really looking forward to see what will happen.

You have a good example: I started learning Dutch at 22 (= your age) and now I speak and write it on a (near-) native level.

Fasulye

Fasulye, thank you very much for the encouraging example!

I started to learn French at 25, and I've been constantly worrying that I would never be able to reach a near-native level.
1 person has voted this message useful

Fasulye
Heptaglot
Winner TAC 2012
Germany
fasulyespolyglotblog
Joined 5656 days ago

5460 posts - 6006 votes 
1 sounds
Speaks: German*, DutchC1, EnglishB2, French, Italian, Spanish, Esperanto
Studies: Latin, Danish, Norwegian, Turkish
Personal Language Map

Message 34 of 57
02 April 2010 at 7:11pm | IP Logged 
starst wrote:
Fasulye wrote:
m32amir wrote:
I started learning German and Portuguese after I turned 20. I'm really looking forward to see what will happen.

You have a good example: I started learning Dutch at 22 (= your age) and now I speak and write it on a (near-) native level.

Fasulye

Fasulye, thank you very much for the encouraging example!

I started to learn French at 25, and I've been constantly worrying that I would never be able to reach a near-native level.

It's not so much the age that counts, but more the circumstances that you have to be involved in the foreign language. If you are lucky with a certain language that you are very dedicated in learning plus you have native speaker contacts plus you can travel to the country to speak the language there, then you have the chance to reach a near-native level in the foreign language.

With Dutch I had and still have such supportive circumstances and therefore I can maintain my (near-) nativel level in this language easily.

Fasulye