United States
Joined 6736 days ago

2042 posts - 2719 votes 
Speaks: Russian*, English
Studies: German

Message 17 of 19
12 January 2007 at 9:00pm | IP Logged 
Raincrowlee wrote:
I started studying linguistics in school, and I heard all about the critical period hypothesis, then came over to Taiwan and taught children for four years. The result of my experience is that I now see this as a non sequitur. There is a change, but it doesn't have to be biological.

What you are saying may be true as far as the language as a medium of thought. However, if you look at audio processing, there does appear to be a transition, and it may well be biological - adults rarely acquire flawless accents, kids do, and I suspect adults never develop audio comprehension to quite the same level as the natives.

On the other hand, most adult learners don't care, or learn not to care :), about acquiring a perfect accent, and in that sense one can rest at ease about having been out of diapers for a few years too many.

And well, second languages are known to be processed in a different part of the brain from the native one(s), so there might be other, perhaps less obvious, differences.

Edited by frenkeld on 12 January 2007 at 9:05pm

1 person has voted this message useful

tujiko
United States
Joined 6326 days ago

140 posts - 144 votes 
Speaks: English*

Message 18 of 19
12 January 2007 at 9:54pm | IP Logged