Heptaglot
Germany
Joined 6453 days ago

1001 posts - 1169 votes 
Speaks: German*, French, English, Spanish, Portuguese, Turkish, Italian
Studies: Persian, Tamil

Message 1 of 11
18 January 2007 at 4:30am | IP Logged 
How difficult is it to read Ottoman Turkish for a speaker of Turkish and Persian? From what I've read the main difficulty for a Turkish speaker is the Arabic script and the many Arabic/Persian loanwords that were borrowed from Persian, so I was thinking that maybe if you know Turkish AND Persian, you should be able to understand Ottoman as well. As I'm studying Turkish and plan to study Persian in the future, knowing that I could get another important literary language for free would certainly boost my motivation...
1 person has voted this message useful

daristani
United States
Joined 6932 days ago

752 posts - 1661 votes 
Studies: Uzbek

Message 2 of 11
18 January 2007 at 9:09am | IP Logged 
Having at one time aspired to be an Ottomanist, I was struck by this query, but am uncertain how to answer it. In a sense, Turkish and Persian, and the borrowed Arabic vocabulary you pick up while learning these two languages, are a good basis for Ottoman, which is/was essentially Turkish sentence structure filled with Persian and Arabic words, as well as grammatical structures taken from these two other languages.