India
gallery.takingitglob
Joined 6201 days ago

61 posts - 69 votes 
Speaks: English*, Hindi*, Oriya*, SpanishB2
Studies: FrenchB1, Japanese, Irish

Message 1 of 23
10 May 2007 at 4:04am | IP Logged 
I started learning Esperanto from Monday, the 7th of May and so far it's been going great.

The reason I'm learning Esperanto is because I'm curious as to what a constructed language would be like. If language is the way in which you see the world, how would the world look like through a created tongue? Besides, it is a fairly easy language and not one that would cause any confusion with my on going Spanish studies. And a language, any language, is always an investment so why not?

The first day I just read up on the language and it's structure. I'm finding that the almost minimalist structure of the language doesn't really make it unexciting as I believed at first. It has a fairly, pleasant sound, somewhere between Italian and Polish. What I love best about it is the freedom given to the speaker to make the language his own. The logical, grammar coded structure feels just a little bit monotonous but thanks to this quality it makes it easier for the learner to work with the language. After all, if you figure out the rules of the game, it becomes so much easier to win.

I signed up for a 10 Lesson Esperanto course. I need a basic framework first so that I can build up as I go. I have been assigned a tutor and I started my first bit of real studying on Tuesday; reading the first lesson and doing the translations that followed. My exercises for the first lesson have been perfect and I hope it continues this way.

I have also signed up for the 6 week challenge. This way I have an end to work towards and hopefully won't be in danger of dropping out mid way.

My basic plan is:
+ Finishing the 10 lesson plan.
+ Building up my vocabulary through other resources (I have been recommended Lernu's Gerda Malaperis course).