Groupie
United StatesRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4278 days ago

45 posts - 67 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Mandarin

Message 170 of 181
25 August 2012 at 9:15am | IP Logged 
Wow, awesome post. I just read it from beginning to end.
I am currently in Chengdu, China. I studied abroad here last year, and met a wonderful Chinese girl. So I moved back here to spend 2 years while she finishes her college career. In the meantime, I hope to become fluent within those 2 years. Of course, here everyone speaks Sichuan hua, and is very shy about using Mandarin. So it presents its own set of challenges.

You have inspired me greatly. I definitely intend on incorporating your advice and methods to myself. One question, you spent a lot of time learning how to write. Do you consider that a wise investment of your time still? Because in this digital age, a lot of input is through computers.
2 persons have voted this message useful

AI
Joined 4258 days ago

3 posts - 3 votes
Studies: SpanishB2

Message 171 of 181
02 September 2012 at 12:31pm | IP Logged 
irrationale wrote:
So I really can't believe this, but I am going to learn Mandarin.

I say "I can't believe" because I never thought I would be learning this language, even a month ago. Then again, I never thought I would be learning Spanish either, but about 4.5 months ago I started that out of a same urge, and now I am having complete conversations. So now I have this incredible urge to learn Mandarin that came out of nowehere, and I think to myself; well, it can't be too hard right? :)

My goal is complete fluency in all forms. As far as my goal is right now, this means 6000+ words and fluent conversation ability. In the future it may mean total native like fluency. I really don't care how long it takes me. I am honest with myself; if I get bored of it, or for whatever reason don't have the "urge", I will stop without regret. However, the urge for Spanish never died so I don't see that happening....