Bilingual Tetraglot
Canada
Joined 5712 days ago

269 posts - 291 votes 
Speaks: English*, Russian*, French, Spanish
Studies: Japanese

Message 81 of 204
11 December 2008 at 5:31pm | IP Logged 
eddina, what inspired you to take such an interest in Germanic languages?
1 person has voted this message useful

eddina
Triglot
Poland
Joined 5973 days ago

3 posts - 3 votes
Speaks: Polish*, NorwegianC1, English
Studies: German, Danish

Message 82 of 204
11 December 2008 at 5:48pm | IP Logged 
I had to learn English and German at school and I enjoyed a lot studying both (what I can't say about my short but painful flirt with French back in primary school), so it looks like it's just some kind of undefinied attraction to the way Germanic languages sound, I guess. Another argument for this may be that I instantly fell in love wih Norwegian the moment I first heard it, and decided to make it into my future profession. Now I've been studying Norwegian at the university for almost 5 years and recently I started working as a translator.
The melody of the Scandinavian languages is simply adorable - apart from Danish perhaps, as it has no proper melody, or tune for that matter, but still it sounds nice to me. And yes, I'm taking up Swedish next week. Can't wait for that already!

Hype
Triglot
Norway
Joined 5624 days ago

2 posts - 2 votes
Speaks: Norwegian*, English, Swedish
Studies: French

Message 83 of 204
11 December 2008 at 6:09pm | IP Logged 
I'm actually new to this forum, hoping to learn something :)

I speak Norwegian, it's my mother tongue. I speak both Bokmål and Nynorsk able to speak with quite a few accents as well.
I speak English fluently, I'm currently trying to pick up a Scottish accent.
I also speak French, German and Swedish. (and I'm also able to understand everything Danish people say, but can't pronounce the words since they got this weird twist)
I know the Russian alphabet,