Driveuplife
United States
Joined 5109 days ago

4 posts - 4 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Mandarin

Message 121 of 204
21 May 2010 at 3:24am | IP Logged 
20 years old, 30 days from my 21st birthday.

English: Native
Mandarin Chinese: Beginner. Been studying for 2 1/2 months.

This thread is depressing. Seeing people in their 20's knowing more than four languages while I'm just beginning my own journey is both inspirational and saddening in a way. I've got a loooong way to go, but then again I'm freakin 20. So it's not such a big deal.
1 person has voted this message useful

Lucky Charms
Diglot
Japan
lapacifica.net
Joined 6746 days ago

752 posts - 1711 votes 
Speaks: English*, Japanese
Studies: German, Spanish

Message 122 of 204
21 May 2010 at 4:41am | IP Logged 
I will be 24 next month.

English - native.

German - the first language of much of my family. I started trying to teach myself through library materials (cassette tapes, if anyone can remember those!) at age 9, but of course did not get so far despite my perseverance, and took it up again as a high school/university subject from ages 14-21 which of course was a waste of my time and I regrettably could not get past an intermediate level after all those years. During that last year or so of my 'German period' is when I came across this site in its infancy, and started experimenting with new methods. I was actually starting to get somewhere until I decided to shelve it and focus exclusively on Japanese at age 21. I look forward to taking it up again soon (I have a one-year challenge scheduled from January 2011) armed with an arsenal of new insights and refreshed enthusiasm! (to summarize: age 9-25)