Studies: Polish, Slovak, Uzbek, Turkish, Korean, Finnish

Message 25 of 33
26 October 2006 at 4:19pm | IP Logged 
alcina wrote:
Chung wrote:
(e.g. When was the last time any of you bumped into
someone who comes from Mauritania or Gabon? There wouldn't be many
of us, I suspect.) Thus I don't think that the advantage is as great as it
first appears given the lack of contact.

Today...yesterday...the day before...Well...actually I can't be *certain* they
came from those specific countries, but they were definitely French
speaking Africans! :) I live in a cheap part of London, every other voice I
hear in the street will *not* be speaking English. French is probably the
second most common language I hear around me daily after English.
Other languages heard daily are Russian, Polish, Romanian, Bulgarian,
Turkish, Greek, Cantonese, Mandarin, Indian (I have no knowledge of
Indian languages, so I can't tell which ones I'm hearing), Arabic (again, I
have no knowlege) and interestingly over the last year, German. I don't
know why I'm suddenly hearing a lot of German. And in the
Summer....Italian...Italy seems to expel her youth in the Summer and I
swear 95% of them end up here! You should see how many different
languages the local council has to translate its information into! :)

I guess it depends on where you live, but certainly the ability to speak
French is still valuable here because of French speaking Africans, rather
than French speaking Europeans.

Alcina

It certainly does. I heard that London is the most multilingual city in the English-speaking world and it does attract a lot of people from everywhere in the world, be they visitors, refugees or immigrants. One of my Polish friends recently complained that she heard so much Polish in London that she couldn't work on her English as much as she would have liked.

Edited by Chung on 26 October 2006 at 4:19pm

1 person has voted this message useful

easyboy82
Pentaglot
Groupie
Italy
Joined 6627 days ago