United States
Joined 5385 days ago

1014 posts - 1533 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: German, Russian, Dutch, French

Message 17 of 34
08 August 2010 at 1:55am | IP Logged 
I don't have dreams :) I live them.

honestly, my dream languages are the one's I'm currently studying, and maybe japanese in addition. I'm in no hurry, I'm focusing on a language every one-two years depending upon the difficulty :)
1 person has voted this message useful

LanguageSponge
Triglot
United Kingdom
Joined 5566 days ago

1197 posts - 1487 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, French
Studies: Welsh, Russian, Japanese, Slovenian, Greek, Italian

Message 18 of 34
08 August 2010 at 3:10pm | IP Logged 
Before I go onto the "dream list" or so, I want to get my German, Italian and Russian to a level I'm happy with. After those, my "dream" is to be able to speak Greek, Japanese and Chinese. Japanese because I loved certain Japanese programs as a kid and Chinese because I want to be able to read "Romance of the Three Kingdoms" in Chinese. That will take many, many years, but that's fine. And Greek I want to learn because I love the country - I can already read Greek but that's far from enough. Also, Greek is so far the only script I can read which for me doesn't lose its wonder and beauty after you can read it. Perhaps it's just me :P

Jack

mattrossi
Australia
Joined 5022 days ago

3 posts - 4 votes
Speaks: English*

Message 19 of 34
08 August 2010 at 3:12pm | IP Logged 
I speak English natively and can speak some Esperanto.

I would love to study Italian for mainly practical reasons. Half of my family speak Italian, so it would be good to
be able to speak their language to them as well as in English (especially for my grandparents who are fluent but
nowhere near a native level of English). Within a couple of months I'll also have Italian citizenship (to go along
with my Australian citizenship), so a command of Italian would be useful when dealing with the bureaucracies.