Tags: Ideal | Hit List | Polyglot
 Language Learning Forum : General discussion Post Reply
34 messages over 5 pages: 1 2 35  Next >>
Iwwersetzerin
Bilingual Heptaglot
Luxembourg
Joined 5469 days ago

259 posts - 513 votes 
Speaks: French*, Luxembourgish*, GermanC2, EnglishC2, SpanishC2, DutchC1, ItalianC1
Studies: Portuguese, Mandarin

Message 26 of 34
09 August 2010 at 4:19pm | IP Logged 
I already speak Luxembourgish, French, German, English and Spanish fluently.
The languages I am currently learning actively are Italian and Dutch.
I don't really have a dream language, just a loooong list of languages I want to learn some day (and will!). That would be Russian (which I studied for some time but then dropped), Portuguese, Catalan, Greek, Swedish or Norwegian, Indonesian/Malay, Japanese and maybe a few others like Mandarin, Arabic or Nahuatl.
Unfortunately days only have 24 hours and I am also very busy with work and other hobbies, so I have to take it slowly.

1 person has voted this message useful

vilas
Pentaglot
Italy
Joined 6760 days ago

531 posts - 722 votes 
Speaks: Spanish, Italian*, English, French, Portuguese

Message 27 of 34
09 August 2010 at 10:44pm | IP Logged 
[QUOTE=noriyuki_nomura] my French and understanding of French literature), Italian, Spanish, Portuguese and Corsican (I would like to learn a rare language, and hopefully it might give me clues to further understanding the romance languages as a whole).

Corsican is a ccentral Italian dialect (tuscany-umbria-marche family)
( but you don't have to say it to the corsicans! they will not accept it )
Corsican is very close to Italian , more than dutch and afrikaans
In facts there are not corsican-italian dictionaries . Corsican is like the vulgar Italian spoken after Middle Age .Every Italian can understand it easily.
I never studied it and I read without problems all the corsican sites and forums

ellasevia
Super Polyglot
Winner TAC 2011
Germany
Joined 5942 days ago

2150 posts - 3229 votes