Diglot
Poland
Joined 6940 days ago

363 posts - 368 votes 
Speaks: English*, Polish

Message 25 of 35
09 August 2005 at 3:58pm | IP Logged 
Mello,

I live in Poland, where I work as an English teacher. I am of course English not Polish but I will help you any way I can. What help do you need?
1 person has voted this message useful

Virgil
United States
baptistbiblebeliever
Joined 6552 days ago

4 posts - 5 votes
Speaks: English
Studies: Polish

Message 26 of 35
26 May 2006 at 6:54am | IP Logged 
Chung wrote:
For tapes, the only good ones out there are the 19 tapes that come with the course "Beginning Polish" by Dr. Schenker of Yale University. The tapes contain the classroom drills that are printed in the textbook.

There're some reviews of the kit at this address:
http://languagenetwork.tripod.com/polish_instruction/isbn_03 00016530.htm

There's an excellent Polish site at from the University of Pittsburgh at: http://polish.slavic.pitt.edu/ (in particular, look for "first year Polish course")

Apparently the online course is being updated continuously and not all of the chapters have sound and video recordings yet. However it has lots of information with plenty of exercises.

I purchased these tapes about five years ago and was very disappointed with them. Not well copied and very hard to hear.

However - GOOD NEWS!

All of the lessons and the drills (hundreds hours at least of material - which was on the tapes [I paid close to $160.00 for them] is now available as a FREE download of mp3 files.

Here:

http://www.cls.yale.edu/polish/

Enjoy!

2 persons have voted this message useful

Virgil
United States
baptistbiblebeliever
Joined 6552 days ago

4 posts - 5 votes

Message 27 of 35
26 May 2006 at 7:14am | IP Logged