Bilingual Tetraglot
Algeria
Joined 5532 days ago

188 posts - 202 votes 
Speaks: Arabic (Written)*, Arabic (classical)*, French, English

Message 1 of 70
09 April 2009 at 5:58pm | IP Logged 
Bonjour ;)
I am trying to learn Spanish at the moment with Pimsleur and Michel Thomas courses and it is going pretty fine fortunatly. My goal for Spanish is to be capable of handling everyday's conversations without much advanced vocabulary. I read in an article that we only use 1500 words (in any language) to express and deal with each other,so is it enough to be "well" in Spanish since I am only learning it for fun ?
Thank you
1 person has voted this message useful

Cainntear
Pentaglot
Scotland
linguafrankly.blogsp
Joined 5799 days ago

4399 posts - 7687 votes 
Speaks: Lowland Scots, English*, French, Spanish, Scottish Gaelic
Studies: Catalan, Italian, German, Irish, Welsh

Message 2 of 70
09 April 2009 at 6:01pm | IP Logged 
There is no ideal number. There are words you can't get by without. You only need the words you're going to use. I couldn't really get by in any country without the word "internet", others need "motorbike". You know what you want to say. If you can't say it when you finish the course, just look it up!

delta910
Diglot
United States
Joined 5663 days ago

267 posts - 313 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: Dutch, German

Message 3 of 70
09 April 2009 at 7:00pm | IP Logged 
Basically, as many words you can learn.

josht
Diglot
United States
Joined 6234 days ago

635 posts - 857 votes 
Speaks: English*, German
Studies: French, Spanish, Russian, Dutch

Message 4 of 70
09 April 2009 at 7:25pm | IP Logged 
Cainntear wrote:
You only need the words you're going to use.