Joined 5322 days ago

6 posts - 12 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: French

Message 33 of 53
17 April 2010 at 4:08am | IP Logged 
goosefrabbas wrote:
C6Silver wrote:
I don't believe that RS can prohibit the re-sale of their product. This is the same issue facing people who re-sell computer and console games and even though those companies don't like it, it is legal. This is based on the First Sale Doctrine which permits the sale of an original copy of software as a full transfer of ownership. I do not believe that RS, nor any other software company, has legal grounds to prevent your re-sale of the original copy.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First-sale_doctrine

Rosetta Stone says they sell the license to use the product. And in the EULA it states that the license to use their products is non-transferable.

I am not a lawyer, so take anything I say with a grain of salt.

The EULA can say whatever it wants. It can say that by using their product you sign over rights to your house. Of course that is ridiculous, but the point is that just because a EULA says it doesn't make it legally binding. I think copyright law is pretty clear here which is why PC and console game companies aren't able to shut down the used sale of their products. Believe me, they don't like GameStop or anyone else selling second hand copies. If it were a simple matter of calling the software a license, this industry (which is bigger than Hollywood) would have done it a long time ago. Instead some products utilize ways to tie your installation of the product to an on-line account thus any secondhand installation wouldn't work.