Sheepy
Australia
Joined 5024 days ago

1 posts - 1 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese

Message 73 of 80
18 July 2010 at 1:14pm | IP Logged 
I havent had many encounters to be honest, but the ones I have had have been good.

I started talking to a waitress at a japanese restaurant, and told her I was learning
Japanese. I managed to get a little Japanese out but its clear that I was a beginner.
However purposely asked me questions in Japanese like "what would you like to drink?". It
is not an understatement to say that I was incredibly pleased.
1 person has voted this message useful

ReneeMona
Diglot
Netherlands
Joined 5116 days ago

864 posts - 1274 votes 
Speaks: Dutch*, EnglishC2
Studies: French

Message 74 of 80
18 July 2010 at 2:17pm | IP Logged 
Romanist wrote:

In countries like France, Germany and Holland, there may sometimes be undercurrents of mild racism too - there is almost a kind of feeling that a person is not really "worthy" to speak the language unless he/she ticks the right boxes...

(Of course, such people are in a fairly small minority - but unfortunately they do exist.)

I'm curious to know what exactly you mean by this and if you have met many of these people. I've heard of the French being arrogant about their language and sceptical of foreigners speaking it but I've never heard anything like that about the Dutch or the Germans.

As for the French, I have spent a couple of weeks in different parts of France nearly every summer of my life and I have never had an unpleasant experience with the French, not even as a child/teenager ordering bread or ice cream in broken French and with a probably horrible accent. My mother speaks French, nowhere near flawless but enough to be able to not have to resort to English to get her point across, and she would arrange these holidays and she told me that she had never been frowned upon or replied to in English, not even in Paris.