Germany
Joined 4658 days ago

1181 posts - 1912 votes 
Speaks: German*, EnglishC2, Korean
Studies: Persian

Message 57 of 69
15 October 2012 at 5:54pm | IP Logged 
I got a similar result to Ari on the test Arguelles recommended: 21,900

I believe I only got a good score because of similarities between German and English, because I've been reading almost exclusively English books since I was 14 (lots of them; now I'm 25), because I'm a British studies major and because I studied Latin at high school.

I wouldn't despair if you didn't get a good result - you don't need to know a lot of those words to function perfectly in an English-speaking environment. If you want to improve your vocabulary size, I recommend that you read more English books on a wide variety of subjects. There's no need to look up words, the problem will take care of itself.

Edited by druckfehler on 15 October 2012 at 5:55pm

1 person has voted this message useful

internetalias
United States
Joined 4322 days ago

9 posts - 9 votes
Speaks: English*

Message 58 of 69
15 October 2012 at 11:20pm | IP Logged 
i'm a native speaker in English; it's my only language i know.
i scored 14,900 on the first test and 19,900 on the second one
chin up! sometimes, the standards are incredibly conflated... or atleast i hope so, otherwise i would be
worried about my own scores! :-)

Amun
Triglot
Groupie
Netherlands
Joined 4848 days ago

52 posts - 72 votes 
Speaks: Dutch*, English, French
Studies: Spanish

Message 59 of 69
17 October 2012 at 8:40pm | IP Logged 
I scored 10,000, which isn't too bad for me considering I never seriously studied
English but mostly learned from movies and games. I think that English vocabulary tests
have a bias favoring Romance speakers, let me explain why.

The ''simple'' everyday English words are usually of Germanic origin and quite easy for
Germanic speakers (like the Dutch and Germans) to recognize, but the more