Brazil
Joined 4539 days ago

68 posts - 74 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*, English
Studies: German, Russian, Latin, French

Message 1 of 29
29 December 2011 at 3:32am | IP Logged 
(A very short) Introduction:
My passion for languages started with my passion for everything that’s foreign: music, movies, history, literature. The fact I love reading pushed me to learn more languages.

I’m committed to do a serious learning. In 2009 I started learning Italian (then German and Russian, sometime later) through Livemocha. Back then I didn’t know much about language learning and methods, so 2010 went through almost the same way. Soon I got mad with LM, with my own lack of commitment and lost motivation, but now I’ll do better. :)

Russian

As I told before, I tried some units in LM, but never finished the second one. If there’s one thing I don’t like about LM is to read a word for the speaking exercise which wasn’t taught before.
I also tried Pimsleur, but it didn’t please me as much as Michel Thomas did. I’m still finishing Foundation Course.
So, here I am now. I want to accumulate at least 400 hours of study in 2012.

Resources Hugo’s Russian in three months. I plan to start with it, along with the Princeton Course, FSI Russian FAST, Survival Russian and some other resources I may gather. I'll also continue with Michel Thomas Russian Advanced.

German

This year I took a course at University, but I didn’t like it. Too slow, besides, we were forced to speak only German since our third class. How students without previous knowledge were supposed to do this? (I could babble words I remembered from LM, but even so… ) And I didn’t like the material either. At least I was happy because my teacher complimented me on my pronunciation. :)

Resources: German in Three months too, and Assimil German with Spanish base. I'll do the Michel Thomas courses also.

This is what I can think for now.
"That's all, folks", let's rock!   

Edited by Isabliss_27 on 05 January 2012 at 3:34pm