United States
justpaste.it/Kerrie2
Joined 5185 days ago

1232 posts - 1740 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish

Message 41 of 94
05 September 2012 at 4:53pm | IP Logged 

Once the active phase starts, are you planning to continue at the pace of one passive plus one active lesson per day for each language?

I have found the same frustration with vocabulary that you are having with Swahili and Indonesian with my Turkish course. I know some of my problem is that I'm studying from my L3, which is not as strong as I'd like, but I don't really have any problem understanding the French.

Obviously that's not a problem for you, but I wonder how much of it is that for me, compared to the fact that the language is structured so differently from the Indo-European languages. As different as the Romance, Germanic, and Slavic languages are, they all share a lot of grammatical structures, base words and cognates.

I think the idea of using Anki (or any other resources) defeats the idea behind the method behind Assimil, but I don't really believe it's that "simple" to learn a language that has such foreign grammar and vocabulary.

Didn't Sprachprofi do the Swahili Assimil course with no other resources to see how far the course would actually take you?

Are you planning to continue all these languages once you've finished the Assimil adventure?
2 persons have voted this message useful

vermillon
Triglot
United Kingdom
Joined 4468 days ago

602 posts - 1042 votes 
Speaks: French*, EnglishC2, Mandarin
Studies: Japanese, German

Message 42 of 94
06 September 2012 at 4:19pm | IP Logged