Tetraglot
HungaryRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4829 days ago

249 posts - 276 votes 
Speaks: Hungarian*, EnglishB2, GermanB2, Japanese

Message 1 of 26
17 December 2012 at 1:19pm | IP Logged 
Hi (wo)men!

Just wanted to start my 2013 TAC log right here. These are the infos about me that I found useful sharing.

Arabic
Reason to learn: Reading from the right to the left seems cool. Writing no short vowels sounds interesting. Unique sounds are unique. Grammar is considered interesting (dual form for the win!).
Level: absolute beginner (Zero knowledge)
Aim: Conversational level (eg. everyday Arabic).
Plan:
01.01 - 22.04 Learn one lesson of Kullu Tamam! per week.*
23.04 - 21.06 Learn one lesson of Teach Yourself Beginner's Arabic Script each four-days-long period of time.
22.06 - 25.10 Learn one lesson of Teach Yourself Arabic (published 1992) per week.
26.10 - 31.12 I leave it tractable, but I'll probably just watch anime with Arabic subtitles. If my father sets up the parabolic antenna pointing to a satellite which transmits Arabic TV channels then I might opt for that, at least on days I'm home (Friday-Sunday).

Also, I intend to use some lyrics at some point or another.

Japanese
Reason to learn: I love watching anime so I thought it'd be a good idea to learn Japanese.
Level: false beginner (No ability to produce Japanese. Able to comprehend 100 words written or said)
Aim: Understanding of slice of life anime to a pleasant degree (e.g. 70%).
Plan: Watch one episode of anime per week.

Mandarin
Reason to learn: I love hanzi and tones so I thought it'd be a good idea to learn Mandarin.
Level: false beginner (No ability to produce Mandarin. Able to comprehend 1000 characters. No ability to understand spoken Mandarin)
Aim: Understanding of slice of life anime to a pleasant degree (e.g. 70%).
Plan:
Watch one episode of Chinese subtitled anime per week.
Listen to two Slow Chinese podcasts a week and learn the scripts by heart, recording myself saying them.