Joined 6700 days ago

909 posts - 942 votes 
Speaks: Spanish, English*, Mandarin
Studies: Japanese, French, Dutch, Italian

Message 89 of 106
02 October 2006 at 5:19pm | IP Logged 
patuco wrote:
Charlie wrote:
However, there are some people in this forum who want to say "let's do away with standards entirely." Go ahead, think that way! Your lax standards will make it much easier for me to find a job, because while you're sitting on your laurels saying "I'm fluent," I'll be the one who gets the job because I showed concrete evidence.

This assumes that we are studying languages in order to obtain employment. A great deal of us have no real need to learn any language but we do so anyway for various other reasons.

Quite a pointless statement on my behalf but...I have a BA degree in Chinese Studies and yet my Mandarin is terrible! So not even formal qualifications can perfectly determine your language level (the HSK exams for Mandarin proficiency would certainly be a more reliable guide).

Besides, as Patuco points out, we don't all learn languages for employment benefits. I'm learning Japanese for the sheer fun of it and wouldn't even consider putting it on my CV as I'm not seeking a Japanese-language job anyway. These days there seems to be too much focus on learning something only if it's profitable with regards to work and money rather than for cultural and personal interest. I guess I'm just idealistic...
1 person has voted this message useful

alexptrans
Pentaglot
Israel
Joined 6575 days ago

208 posts - 236 votes 
Speaks: English, Modern Hebrew, Russian*, French, Arabic (Written)
Studies: Icelandic

Message 90 of 106
02 October 2006 at 5:24pm | IP Logged 
patuco wrote:
Charlie wrote: