Haksaeng
Korea, South
Joined 5988 days ago

166 posts - 250 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Korean, Arabic (Levantine)

Message 17 of 51
28 January 2013 at 7:39am | IP Logged 
Hey billyshears66, thanks for your comment and good luck to you, too.

For my weekly progress report:

Liberated from Anki, I had a great week with my languages, and especially with KOREAN.

Online, I did three advancedkorean.com lessons (this involves reading short newspaper articles) and one GLOSS (2+ level) lesson (listening to a short broadcast and then answering a series of questions that help develop comprehension). I also watched a couple hours worth of miscellaneous Korean TV programs on YouTube.

For more listening practice, I studied Chapter 5 of my 말하기 쉬운 한국어 book. This is a series of 12 books that I've been working with on and off for a few years. I started using it when I was a high beginner because it was about the only thing I could understand at the time. I've continued with it since it provides good supplementary listening practice along with transcripts of each dialogue. As of this week, I'm almost done with Volume 8.

In my Korean class, we're studying Sogang 5A Chapter 3. It's slightly boring compared to my own outside reading, but it's really the only speaking I'm doing lately.

I read the last three short stories in 벙어리 동찬이, a book of short stories for upper elementary kids that I've been working on for a while. The stories varied in difficulty, but I definitely noticed the reading getting easier towards the end; practice makes perfect. I find it amazing the number of words I can recognize while reading, though I would never be able to come up with the words myself, nor would I recognize them in a list, absent their context.