United Kingdom
Joined 5591 days ago

722 posts - 1076 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, Italian
Studies: Russian, Czech, Polish, Greek, Mandarin

Message 1 of 84
31 December 2012 at 4:49am | IP Logged 
STELINGO’S TAC 2013: TEAMS SPARTA AND KOFOLA

I have been a member of the forum for over 4 years, but this is the first time I have entered the TAC. I started learning my first foreign language at the age of 11 and 3 decades later I am still going strong. For my sins I am a language teacher, I teach French and Spanish in a comprehensive school in the UK. This is something that I have not mentioned here before, as many on this forum have a very poor opinion of language teaching in schools. Although I sympathise with some of the complaints made about language teaching, I think many do not always appreciate the issues and problems that face language teachers and I do not visit the forum to justify language education.

For the challenge I am concentrating on Czech and Modern Greek, although I study several other languages and would be the first to admit that I spread myself too thinly. I have tried to drop some of them, but I am a language addict and quickly suffer withdrawal symptoms (snappiness, depression, a tendency to mutter myself in several languages). I am learning to live with my addiction. 
Apologies that this is a very long post.

MY LANGUAGES

FRENCH

CURRENT LEVEL C1

The first language I learnt was French which I started at school when I was eleven. The classes weren't very challenging and I quickly became frustrated at the slow pace of the class. So I took out books from the library and also bought some books and began teaching myself. By the time I was fourteen I was able to read magazines and novels. The first novel I read in French was Dr No, and then The Three Musketeers.