Triglot
CanadaRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4405 days ago

263 posts - 370 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, French
Studies: Greek

Message 17 of 109
11 July 2013 at 8:41pm | IP Logged 
Have you used any materials to learn some Romansh or did you find it somewhat transparent given your knowledge of other romance languages?
1 person has voted this message useful

Ogrim
Heptaglot
France
Joined 4434 days ago

991 posts - 1896 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, English, Spanish, French, Romansh, German, Italian
Studies: Russian, Catalan, Latin, Greek, Romanian

Message 18 of 109
15 July 2013 at 6:12pm | IP Logged 
Embici, I started learning Romansh when I was at University and my Italian professor proposed a special course for me - he was a Romansh enthusiast. I did have a manual, called Rumantsch Sursilvan, by Theo Candinas, from 1982. It was monolingual, so we supplemented with a Sursilvan - German dictionary and a grammar written in French called "Manuel pratique de romanche" by Ricarda Liver, also from 1982. Then I also remember a book called "Bien di, bien onn", from the early 1930s. It was rather peculiar because the grammar explanations etc. were written in German in Gothic script! Unfortunately I have lost my copy of that one.

We did move on to "real texts" pretty quickly though, for that obviously my knowledge of other Romance languages was a real advantage.

Today you can find material for learning Romansh a lot more easily than when I started back in the 1980s (i.e. the "stone age" before internet existed). The Lia Rumantscha has a good internet bookshop and they deliver relatively quickly (at least in Europe).

Ogrim
Heptaglot
France
Joined 4434 days ago

991 posts - 1896 votes 

Message 19 of 109
31 July 2013 at 11:50am | IP Logged