United States
zamishka.blogspot.coRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4035 days ago

41 posts - 82 votes 
Speaks: English*, Ukrainian*
Studies: French, German, Spanish, Polish

Message 25 of 51
29 April 2013 at 8:40am | IP Logged 
Warning: I’m going to be a devil’s advocate for Rosetta Stone in this post, so if the
thought of RS makes you froth at the mouth and speak demonic chants like the girl from
the Exorcist, then just avoid reading this because you’ll hate me forever and I’d
prefer that we remain friends. Secondly, I am by no means an expert polyglot and am
speaking from my humble experience. The following opinions are based on the numerous
mistakes I have made learning languages over the years. My credentials are fluency
in English and Ukrainian and A2-B1 in French, Spanish, German and Russian. This opinion
is also based on my experience with the demos and not the full product.

With the introductions out of the way. I have always been skeptical of Rosetta Stone
and looked at it with a degree of disdain, but I had never before actually used it. I
recently completed the Spanish tree on DuoLingo in only two weeks, and I enjoyed that
process greatly. In fact, I enjoyed it so much that I become interested in education
gamification and other online learning platforms, which brought me to Rosetta Stone’s
Totale.

I initially did all of the Polish demo lessons that they have (one for each level 1-3).
I did Polish, which is similar to my Ukrainian, so that I could take a look at higher
level grammar like prepositions and adverbs in L3 and see how the “no English” method
performs at that level. I had no problems figuring out higher concepts, and was
pleasantly surprised to find out that Rosetta Stone is actually how I am already
learning languages right now. Rosetta Stone is n+1 content, it is filled with audio and
images and uses a crude form of spaced repetition. All of these are tactics that I use