Register  Login  Active Topics  Maps  

Average Joe/Jose takes a level test

Language Learning Forum : General discussion (Topic Closed Topic Closed) Post Reply
80 messages over 10 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 10 Next >>
Serpent
Octoglot
Russian Federation
serpent-849.livejour
Joined 6407 days ago

9753 posts - 15779 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Russian*, English, FinnishC1, Latin, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Danish, Romanian, Polish, Belarusian, Ukrainian, Croatian, Slovenian, Catalan, Czech, Galician, Dutch, Swedish

Message 65 of 80
25 June 2013 at 11:29pm | IP Logged 
s_allard wrote:
I'm personally against these tests completely because I believe that people will spontaneously learn a language by interaction.
You know very well that many don't.
I think starting the language in advance is a reasonable requirement. Interestingly, if you move to Finland, you need to prove your knowledge of Finnish if you're older than 15. I started learning the language a few days after turning fifteen, long before I decided I want to move to Finland. I also had the exam requirement out of the way before I even made up my mind (B2 would be enough btw).

Edited by Serpent on 26 June 2013 at 12:41am

2 persons have voted this message useful

Cavesa
Triglot
Czech Republic
Joined 4819 days ago

3277 posts - 6779 votes 
Speaks: Czech*, FrenchC2, EnglishC1
Studies: Spanish, German, Italian

Message 66 of 80
25 June 2013 at 11:42pm | IP Logged 
That's interesting. Finnish is at least just as difficult (or probably much more difficult) than Czech for foreigners and here you need only an A1 exam for the permanent stay permission. Which is laughable as quite a lot of troubles with individuals from certain immigrant minorities come from suddenly "not understanding" the language. There is a separate exam for those who want to become citizens but there is no level in the official info.