United States
forum_posts.asp?TID=
Joined 5330 days ago

1419 posts - 1766 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish, Korean, Japanese

Message 81 of 104
31 December 2014 at 1:29am | IP Logged 
I guess your screen name isn't all that accurate now then.

I know what you mean about using language as an escape. A few years back there was a ton
of stress at work (mostly due to the sheer workload at the time) but when I got in the car
and fired up the Korean audio those worries disappeared for at least a while.
1 person has voted this message useful

James29
Diglot
United States
Joined 5170 days ago

1265 posts - 2113 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish
Studies: French

Message 82 of 104
31 December 2014 at 2:35am | IP Logged 
Yup, I too use Spanish as a way to get away... for a "mini-vacation" for the mind. That's one of the reasons I started studying. To break away from annoying and stressful things at work.

I'm really interested in hearing more about your extensive telenovela watching. How is your comprehension? That's a ton of TV watching. I'm not really watching too much TV because I'm doing a lot of reading and just don't have the time. Sometimes I wonder if I should be watching more TV to improve my comprehension.

2 persons have voted this message useful

Stelle
Bilingual Triglot
Canada
tobefluent.com
Joined 3939 days ago

949 posts - 1686 votes 
Speaks: French*, English*, Spanish
Studies: Tagalog

Message 83 of 104
31 December 2014 at 3:46am | IP Logged 
I definitely understand the stress of a cross-country move! I hope that you're happy in your new home, and that
2015 will bring you great things!

AmyinBrooklyn
United States
Joined 3846 days ago

87 posts - 122 votes 
Studies: Spanish

Message 84 of 104
31 December 2014 at 6:33am | IP Logged 
Thanks so much, guys! Yes, my screen name is now totally outdated for me! I wasn't really thinking when I chose it. By rights it should now be - AmywasinBrooklyn