improvingmydutch.blo
Joined 5796 days ago

107 posts - 134 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Dutch

Message 1 of 77
14 December 2013 at 5:38pm | IP Logged 
Hey all,

I have reached a wall with my Dutch. I have self-learned (though I also lived in
Holland for almost two years) Dutch via Michel Thomas, listening daily to radio,
watching some Dutch TV and movies, watching English broadcasts with Dutch subs, some
reading.

My problem is that although I am roughly lower intermediate level, I have holes
peppered in my progress because I never took a formal class.

My reading is pretty darned good. Even my listening is pretty good. My speaking is
terrible and I really want to improve it. My writing is OK.

I'm thinking of doing an evening course, there are many here in London, especially
because my conversational "ad-libbing" skills are so deficient (beyond going to the
store etc.). Yet I think a total beginners class will be a waste of time. I look at the
second year instead and although I know much of it, I may be seriously behind on other
aspects.

Not sure if I should start right from the beginning or join in the second year or just
not do classes at all.

What do you think?
1 person has voted this message useful

patrickwilken
Germany
radiant-flux.net
Joined 4322 days ago

1546 posts - 3200 votes 
Studies: German

Message 2 of 77
14 December 2013 at 5:53pm | IP Logged 
I am not exactly sure what you level is but I would have thought a beginner's class would be too easy from what you've said.

Reading skills are usually ahead of speaking skills so I wouldn't worry too much. I would keep reading alot, continue listening, and try to get some practice speaking. Perhaps you could get a tandem partner?

g-bod
Diglot
United KingdomRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5771 days ago

1485 posts - 2002 votes 
Speaks: English*, Japanese
Studies: French, German

Message 3 of 77
14 December 2013 at 6:08pm | IP Logged