Switzerland
outerkhmer.blogspot.
Joined 4920 days ago

531 posts - 1126 votes 
Speaks: German*, Thai
Studies: Khmer

Message 17 of 54
28 March 2014 at 7:43pm | IP Logged 
Turkish rocks! I’m so glad I started learning this language :) When reading my science books for 7-year olds, I really enjoy figuring out new words, it resembles play much more than study - and that’s just how I like my language learning!

I forgot to mention last week that I started reading one of the children’s encyclopedias I bought, the one on animals; a picture can be found in my 4th message, it’s the first picture in category B. I read this book on my way to work, and I usually manage to get through two or three animals per commute (ten minutes). There’s more text and fewer pictures, but I find myself recognizing many words now. Often not enough to make sense of full sentences, but enough to make me happy.

Most of my time is spent, however, on those category A science books with many pictures and few sentences I’ve posted about a lot already. It’s amazing how much progress I’ve made within a few weeks. There have now even been some pages which I think I fully understand (always evaluated against my fairly loose definition of ‘understand’). There are also pages where I don’t understand a single sentence, but they are few and far between. I guess I understand now more than half of the sentences on average, and I’m picking up new words at an astounding rate. I know from experience that I don’t have any particular talent for languages, it’s simply the magic of comprehensible input.

Now that I have TRmorph, I’m a bit more liberal as to which sentences I add to my corpus. I use the search functionality a lot to remind myself of words I know I’ve seen before. This often helps me to puzzle out more stuff. I’m getting a pretty good handle on certain noun endings, but verbs are still a complete and utter mystery.