nancydowns
United States
Joined 3711 days ago

184 posts - 288 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish, Arabic (Written)

Message 33 of 54
06 April 2014 at 1:54am | IP Logged 
So good to hear that your first session went so well. You really do remember a lot of words in a short amount of time! If I might ask, how did you find
your tutor?
2 persons have voted this message useful

Bakunin
Diglot
Switzerland
outerkhmer.blogspot.
Joined 4919 days ago

531 posts - 1126 votes 
Speaks: German*, Thai
Studies: Khmer

Message 34 of 54
06 April 2014 at 6:53pm | IP Logged 
@renaissancemedi: I’ve never heard about the concept of a ‘global learner’, but I’ve read up on it on the internet and the big-picture part of it makes perfect sense. Counting beans has never been my passion :) But being a mathematician I can attend to detail if I must, and I’m clearly a very analytical person. According to the university of Michigan, only 15% of learners are global learners, and more than 50% are sequential learners. I’m not sure if you meant to imply it, but I shouldn’t expect others to have the same personality type as I :)

@emk: You’re absolutely right, we’re pretty much in the same camp with regards to the use of native media, and we’re not the only ones. Point taken :) Thanks for stopping by, and - I’m sure you know this already - I can only return the compliment: your log is very inspiring indeed.