Spain
Joined 6682 days ago

2340 posts - 2444 votes 
Speaks: Swedish*, Finnish, EnglishC2, Spanish
Studies: Mandarin
Personal Language Map

Message 17 of 62
13 September 2007 at 3:55pm | IP Logged 
Further about Julien, I couldn't shake the feeling that I have seen that face before somewhere. Rummaging through all my downloaded material i finally hit on this Chinese video lesson.

That looks very much like Julien to me, several years younger, though according to the lesson script he is supposedly an Australian student. Do the rest of you agree ? Is that mystery student in fact a much younger Julien ?

Though I am no expert, as far as I can tell his Chinese is far from perfect there (if it is him), so that could quite possibly be when he was still struggling through the beginning stages on his way to mastery of mandarin.

EDIT: He actually appears in several of the clips in that directory, and his Chinese sounds much better on some of the other ones, such as this one, where I was rolling all over the floor laughing at the phrase "酒喝得越多汉语就说得越流利" = "The more I drink, the more fluently I speak Chinese" :o). EDIT2: And a few lessons later we meet him in the classroom in front of a very patient Chinese teacher trying to explain away his rotten performance in a dictation exercise: "It's not that I haven't studied, but I had a few drinks with some friends last night ... " ROTFL

Edited by Hencke on 13 September 2007 at 7:48pm

1 person has voted this message useful

jeff_lindqvist
Diglot
SwedenRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 6697 days ago

4250 posts - 5710 votes 
Speaks: Swedish*, English
Studies: German, Spanish, Russian, Dutch, Mandarin, Esperanto, Irish, French
Personal Language Map

Message 18 of 62
13 September 2007 at 4:31pm | IP Logged 
That definitely looks like him. Funny clip, where did you get that? Is it an online course?

Hencke
Tetraglot
Spain
Joined 6682 days ago

2340 posts - 2444 votes 
Personal Language Map

Message 19 of 62