169 posts - 211 votes 
Speaks: Swedish*, English, German
Studies: Cantonese

Message 1 of 116
14 June 2011 at 5:09pm | IP Logged 
TAC 2015 - Team Rätsel Stars on page 14
TAC 2013 - Team Schnitzel Starts on page 9

Introduction TAC 2015
A new year is here, and so far I've had plenty of motivation for studying. That's what
made me decide to give the TAC another go! I didn't join last year and also struggled
finding motivation to study anything at all. So after months of break (not complete
though, as I've been studying German Translation at the university) I finally feel up
for it!

German
This is the language I'll spend most time on. I'm currently studying to become a
translator from German into Swedish at University and only have one semester to go. If
I want to become a translator I have to improve my German a lot, so I need to work
harder!

I will also try to regain my knowledge in Cantonese, which is almost totally gone by
now.

Edited by WingSuet on 10 January 2015 at 11:29am

1 person has voted this message useful

WingSuet
Triglot
Sweden
Joined 5141 days ago

169 posts - 211 votes 

Message 2 of 116
14 June 2011 at 5:24pm | IP Logged 
I started using Mnemosyne a few months ago - a flashcard program that I think works really well. I've created two decks, one for Chinese characters and one for spoken Cantonese. Currently I have 500 cards in the characters deck (meaning 250 characters, since I have two sides for every character) and 566 cards in the Cantonese deck (also two sides).

I had a break for a few weeks from learning Cantonese as I had a big essay to finish in school. When I finally went back to using Mnemosyne again I had most of the cards waiting to be revised again and it turned out I had forgotten so many characters - even many of which I thought I knew really well!