Joined 5137 days ago

980 posts - 1594 votes 
Speaks: Italian*, English, German
Studies: Russian, Swedish, French

Message 57 of 360
20 May 2012 at 10:46pm | IP Logged 
Mareike wrote:
Erklären kann ich dir die Korrekturen leider nicht. [...]

Kein Problem! Die Korrekturen sind das Wichtigste und für sie danke ich dir!

I hope you don’t mind if I continue in English, but I would like to answer and I write much, much faster in English.

I know that Assimil tells you not to sweat it, and that if you just dedicate half an hour each day to your daily lesson you will ‘assimilate’ the language without even trying, but I’m probably too OCD for such a laid-back approach. I usually end up doing about 1 hour a day minimum, and I try to really learn as much of the material as possible.

With French I had the huge advantage of its being a Romance language just like my mother tongue, and right now I’m trying to brush up my German with L’Allemand. Of course, I’m not a beginner and yet there are still a few new words I have to learn every day. Most of them I already know, but only passively, and my main purpose at this stage is to give a boost to my active vocabulary and to become more fluent (here I really mean more fluent, not more proficient) in German. I find that Assimil works for me, and I actually think it may be a better method for false beginners than for absolute beginners because there are only so many words you can consistently learn day after day, and the whole point of Assimil – for me – is to keep doing a lesson a day for the 5 or 6 months it takes to finish it.