Norway
littlang.blogspot.co
Joined 6468 days ago

745 posts - 845 votes 
Speaks: Swedish*, Norwegian, EnglishC1, Russian, French
Studies: Ukrainian, Bulgarian

Message 33 of 46
07 February 2012 at 7:41pm | IP Logged 
I don't really feel like I am studying OCS anymore. I haven't really gotten started with my Master's thesis yet, I'm only halfway through the damned Definiteness book that takes FOREVER to read, and I've kind of put off doing anything until I have finished it. The plan is to be able to write something general about definiteness, and know what I mean by the different terms definite, indefinite, generic, specific, unspecific, etc, before I start examining the material from the OCS corpus. I can't really continue with this yet either, because my supervisor is extracting a better data set for me to work with, which will include more parameters than the first one she made (which had no way of separately extracting adjectives and participles based on number, which could possibly be interesting).

I've got my third Old Russian class tomorrow, so I have read 4 pages of the text we're working with (we typically read 1,5 pages in 2 hours in class), and even though these texts are supposed to be easier than Codex Suprasliensis, Savvina Kniga, etc, I don't think they are. There are several forms that I am stuck on. Partly, I fear, because I don't know all the paradigms and "formulas" for forming different participles and tenses by heart. I do feel like I should be able to reconstruct приемъ from прияти (but I can't figure it out! It should be the infinitive stem ja-, but obviously the present stem im- is out and about here, with -us>-ъ as an addition), and wtf is рекъ? I should know. I think. Past participle? :S <-- OK, that's what it is. What good some little inner monologuing can do.