Triglot
Czech Republic
Joined 4805 days ago

3277 posts - 6779 votes 
Speaks: Czech*, FrenchC2, EnglishC1
Studies: Spanish, German, Italian

Message 17 of 60
12 October 2012 at 7:52pm | IP Logged 
ox's eye to be precise (btw is it correct English "ox's"? I've never written it before).
but that's not the only strangely named food. have you seen "utopenec" in a pub?
(utopenec=drown man).
1 person has voted this message useful

tajosto
Czech Republic
Joined 4453 days ago

54 posts - 64 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Czech

Message 18 of 60
15 October 2012 at 5:26pm | IP Logged 
@Cavesa:
Ox's eye makes more sense, somehow!
Yes, it is "ox's", even though it does look strange.
No, I haven't seen utopenec in the pub, but will keep my eyes out for it now. :-)

Log:
-Finished transforming my book2 Anki deck to audio questions. I now have it so that only the audio
phrase/sentence is on the "front", and the "back" has the sentence written in both Czech and English. I
don't know, maybe this is a really strange way to do things, but it's making the most sense for me right
now. I also find that it requires much more of my attention to do Anki reviews because I really have to
listen, and sometimes repeat the audio more than once, in order to know what the answer is. Before, with
written questions, I could go through many of the cards without really paying full attention.

-So now I'm looking for other sources of audio files, hopefully with only 1 or 2 sentences per audio file.
While I do have plenty of textbook audio in dialogue form, I'm trying to avoid spending all the time
necessary to chop those files up into shorter clips for Anki. I'm toying with the idea of getting a month's
subscription to this site: http://www.pronunciator.com/English/subscribe.html
Then I could grab the audio files, and use them for Anki. I've never heard of this site before, but it seems
to have a good audio collection, so it might be worth the price for one month.