Tags: Native Speakers
 Language Learning Forum : General discussion Post Reply
91 messages over 12 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 12 Next >>
Jappy58
Bilingual Super Polyglot
United States
Joined 4449 days ago

200 posts - 413 votes 
Speaks: Spanish*, Guarani*, Arabic (Levantine), Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Maghribi), Arabic (Written), French, English, Persian, Quechua, Portuguese
Studies: Modern Hebrew

Message 81 of 91
07 July 2012 at 12:34am | IP Logged 
@montmorency: It's hard for me to put a finger on how complex Quechua is. It's practically my third native language since I started learning it at a young age alongside growing up with Guarani and Spanish. One notable feature, however, is that some of the dialects differ from one another widely, and by some linguists they're considered separate languages in the same "Quechua family." I've personally understood most Quechua dialects I've encountered, but it's true that some can differ widely from one another.

The indigenous people and the situation with Quechua isn't 100% bleak, it's just not as bright as it could be, and they do tend to be less well off than some other groups.
2 persons have voted this message useful

sacha
Triglot
United States
Joined 4338 days ago

22 posts - 60 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Quechua

Message 82 of 91
07 July 2012 at 7:13am | IP Logged 
montmorency wrote:
How complex a language is Quechua?

I've been to Peru - fascinating country - of course - but only spoke Spanish (and quite
bad Spanish at that time :-( sadly ).

I got the impression that the indigenous people in Peru were not particularly badly
treated or badly off, perhaps because they are quite numerous, although I don't know to
what extent they were pure blood indigenous. They always seemed to have a sad demeanour
though.