Groupie
Spain
readlang.com
Joined 4063 days ago

65 posts - 121 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish

Message 1 of 131
08 March 2013 at 9:46pm | IP Logged 
I'm working on this website for reading and building vocabulary.

http://readlang.com

It tries to provide a nice reading environment with translation and couple it with an
SRS flashcard system for retaining words. I suppose it's a much less flexible
alternative to using LWT (Learning With Texts, which I only discovered last week and
seems pretty cool) and Anki. I'm hoping that it's simplicity will make it easy to
use.

I've been using it for over 2 months now and for me it's working well, I regularly
encounter words in 'the real world' that I've learned via the site. But there's a
*lot* of room for improvement, and I'd love to get some constructive feedback and
ideas.
21 persons have voted this message useful

Serpent
Octoglot
Russian Federation
serpent-849.livejour
Joined 6378 days ago

9753 posts - 15779 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Russian*, English, FinnishC1, Latin, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Danish, Romanian, Polish, Belarusian, Ukrainian, Croatian, Slovenian, Catalan, Czech, Galician, Dutch, Swedish

Message 2 of 131
08 March 2013 at 11:55pm | IP Logged 
Wow, that's really nice:) Reminds me on the add-on that I just can't get to work. I might start using it when reading stuff in English online and then picking up the words that I don't know in other languages. I LOVE the easy flashcard creation especially. Most of my cards are like that anyway. and it's awesome that Danish is supported :)
Some questions:
-what if I'm learning several languages? will the cards be saved as they are if I switch the language? will i be able to see them without changing the language back?
-is there a maximum interval for the cards? like, is it a true SRS or is it like memrise where you need to review everything within three months?