Diglot
Canada
Joined 4263 days ago

258 posts - 411 votes 
Speaks: French*, English
Studies: Esperanto

Message 129 of 142
25 August 2013 at 6:07am | IP Logged 
My intention was not to make you leave this thread.
1 person has voted this message useful

Serpent
Octoglot
Russian Federation
serpent-849.livejour
Joined 6389 days ago

9753 posts - 15779 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Russian*, English, FinnishC1, Latin, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Danish, Romanian, Polish, Belarusian, Ukrainian, Croatian, Slovenian, Catalan, Czech, Galician, Dutch, Swedish

Message 130 of 142
25 August 2013 at 9:58am | IP Logged 
JC_Identity wrote:
Although I fully accept all the blame here I have to say that I think I understand a bit why the originator of LR left this forum. That was really unfortunate, it is hard being different.
She was banned.

The thing is, it's as if you want us to admit: "yes, I'm studying slower than I could because I'm learning more than one language." But it's not necessarily true even in absolute terms - and then the issue of motivation and actually getting stuff done comes into play. (kuji is becoming a canonical example here)
5 persons have voted this message useful

Henkkles
Triglot
Finland
Joined 4045 days ago

544 posts - 1141 votes 
Speaks: Finnish*, English, Swedish
Studies: Russian

Message 131 of 142
25 August 2013 at 1:17pm | IP Logged 
The problem is that the "one language at a time" people seem to be pushing the "truth" that their approach is best when that simply isn't true, and that's pretty off-putting as there are pages of evidence against it and all of it seems to get ignored.
4 persons have voted this message useful

Jeffers
United Kingdom
Joined 4701 days ago

2151 posts - 3960 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Hindi, Ancient Greek, French, Sanskrit, German

Message 132 of 142
25 August 2013 at 2:21pm | IP Logged 
JC_Identity wrote: