Tetraglot
ChinaRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5655 days ago

1622 posts - 2299 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Mandarin, Esperanto
Studies: Basque

Message 9 of 68
09 February 2014 at 7:09am | IP Logged 
I really appreciate the descriptions of the courses. I've never used Fluenz before, so it's nice to get an overview. I hope you reach 100% entertainment time soon :)
1 person has voted this message useful

rlnv
United States
Joined 3741 days ago

126 posts - 233 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: French

Message 10 of 68
11 February 2014 at 1:55am | IP Logged 
Thank you Crush. To further my goal of increasing entertainment, I ended up purchasing the complete Buffy box set from amazon.fr. Full title « Buffy contre les vampires - L'intégrale des 7 saisons + la 8ème saison animée ». Now I just need to get an all region DVD player. I've decided to watch this series due to the accurate French transcriptions as noted by emk, found here - http://bufyvs.free.fr/series/btvs/transcript.php. So thanks goes to emk and his excellent log for pointing this out to me.

Looking at some of the transcripts, I believe the language is simpler than the movies I've been watching, and the accurate transcripts will be huge advantage. Reading though a couple of them, I'm surprised how much I understand already. Probably far less than 50 percent at this time, but a few more weeks of Assimil will help prepare. My approach will be to go through the transcript ahead of time and look up some of the vocabulary that I don't know, followed by watching the episode. I might then review the transcript and watch it again.

I'm still at an early stage, but since I'm already spending a lot of time with French movies, I figure my time is better invested in Buffy given the transcripts.     

rlnv
United States
Joined 3741 days ago

126 posts - 233 votes 

Message 11 of 68
17 February 2014 at 2:54am | IP Logged