SpainRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4106 days ago

283 posts - 557 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, Spanish
Studies: Arabic (Written), French

Message 1 of 58
08 September 2014 at 11:52am | IP Logged 
Has YouTube polyglottery had its day?

When only in 2012 I started learning my first foreign language, German, the YouTube polyglots and
their practical tips for self-study were invaluable to me (far more valuable than the expressly
didactic materials available on YouTube).

But even then, most of the videos I watched were old: Alexander Arguelles's videos - 5 or 6 years ago.
Mike Campbell's videos - around the same time. DekaGlosai - regular for a few years but suddenly
stopped (and purged his account) about a year ago. Anthony Lauder - perhaps a "polyNOT" but with some
of the most practical advice and the friendliest of faces - 3-4 years ago. Luca Lampariello - only
semi-regular now compared with 2-3 years ago.

That's not the whole picture, I admit. Steve Kaufmann, Loki, and Laoshu still pump out videos
regularly. Benny Lewis, semi-regularly. Timothy Doner, though not very prolific, has organized a
currently ongoing "teen polyglot challenge" with the aim of encouraging other young learners to upload
Youtube videos. Have I missed out one other ongoing concerns?

Presuming that I'm right, though: I wonder now if the YouTube polyglot was a bit of a fad. That in
truth there's only so many different and totally distinct approaches to self-study and once you've
understood the general process, there's no urgent need for you to watch masses of videos of people
speaking many languages! What do you think?

7 persons have voted this message useful

Donaldshimoda
Diglot
Groupie
Italy
Joined 3888 days ago

47 posts - 72 votes 
Speaks: Italian*, English
Studies: German, Russian

Message 2 of 58
08 September 2014 at 12:07pm | IP Logged 
As far as I'm concerned, once you've got some usefull tips and enjoyed perhaps few