goo.gl/UIdChYRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4476 days ago

1044 posts - 1823 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Spanish
Studies: Italian

Message 25 of 117
13 January 2015 at 4:15pm | IP Logged 
My log is here: link

I've been learning French for about three years. Right now I am not using any formal methods to study it. I just listen to a lot of France Inter, read Le Monde, chat with people online, and read a novel now and then. I feel pretty comfortable both writing and speaking it.

I first took Spanish in high school for three years, but with the passage of a decade I forgot everything I knew other than maybe the few hundred most common words. Fortunately, when I restarted the language a year ago my French gave me a nice jump start on the grammar and vocabulary. I currently work with an awesome tutor from Colombia once every one or two weeks, plus reading news articles and chatting online. I'd say I have a lower intermediate level, which I would like to bring up to advanced this year.

Italian I started learning about two weeks ago with Assimil and Lingq. I'm currently on lesson 17 in Assimil. Based on help from my French and Spanish, I am shooting for a solid intermediate level in Italian by the end of the year. It's the only Romance language to which I have any family connection, and my wife and I would like to go to Italy once we have the money.

Portuguese is on hold for the moment while I work on improving my Spanish and Italian. We'll see what develops as those languages improve.
2 persons have voted this message useful

Meddysong
Triglot
Groupie
United Kingdom
timeofftakeoff.com
Joined 3418 days ago

56 posts - 84 votes 
Speaks: English*, Esperanto, French
Studies: Italian, Catalan
Studies: Swedish

Message 26 of 117
14 January 2015 at 12:17pm | IP Logged