justpaste.it/kanewai
Joined 4709 days ago

1386 posts - 3054 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Marshallese
Studies: Italian, Spanish

Message 33 of 117
16 January 2015 at 9:45pm | IP Logged 
Ave, Caseari!

I was going to skip TAC this year, but reconsidered after reading this thread. The most (only) successful TAC team that I was on was the Romantics team a couple years ago, so I was happy to see this one forming. And I also like Serpent's "drastic" rules on the first post. I think that will help a lot in keeping this a solid team. Also, I like the members!

With that: my target languages over the next year are Italian, French, and Spanish.

I've been working on French steadily since June 2011, and consider myself an independent learner at this point - I learn more from native materials than courses or works in translation. It took a lot of slow, steady work to reach this point. French is now my bench-mark language: when I get frustrated with other languages I look back on my old notes and remind myself that it can take years to reach a good level, and that doing a little bit each day really does add up.

Spanish is my most erratic language. I'll work on it intensely for four months in preparation for a trip, feel confident about where I'm at, not do anything for six months, then work at it again. Overall I've put a lot of effort into it (Assimil, 36 chapters of FSI, four levels of Assimil), and so the structure of the language seems imprinted in my brain, even if it takes a lot of work to reactivate it.

I've been working on Italian steadily since January 2014, and it will be one of my main focuses through the summer.

I think I'm at a point where I can work on Italian and Spanish at the same time, but ... we'll see.

My log is here:

Kanewai 2015

And some good resources that I like are here: