Language Learning Forum : Polyglots Post Reply
125 messages over 16 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 ... 15 16 Next >>

Iversen
Super Polyglot
Denmark
berejst.dk
Joined 6513 days ago

9078 posts - 16473 votes 
Speaks: Danish*, French, English, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, Esperanto, Romanian, Catalan
Studies: Afrikaans, Greek, Norwegian, Russian, Serbian, Icelandic, Latin, Irish, Lowland Scots, Indonesian, Polish, Croatian
Personal Language Map

Message 97 of 125
29 April 2010 at 3:10pm | IP Logged 
In the last couple of messages the focus has not been on polyglots, neither the 'speaking (or writing) polyglot', nor the 'passive polyglot', but a third category, namely the 'linguist' in the narrow sense of this word. A linguist should know something about languages in general, but you can become a famous linguist like Chomsky without knowing more than one or two languages. And if you specialize in syntax you could conceivably be a complete novice in phonetics/phonology, even in your own language. Though a linguist can of course also be a polyglot, and personally I would be very suspicious of sweeping generalizations by linguists who haven't got at least theoretical knowledge about a lot of languages plus active command of a decent number of them.    

Edited by Iversen on 29 April 2010 at 3:41pm

2 persons have voted this message useful

obara
India
subramanian-obula.blRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5776 days ago

21 posts - 22 votes
Studies: Gujarati

Message 98 of 125
29 April 2010 at 3:44pm | IP Logged 
To become a polyglot, one must make use of reading material besides audio and video
discs which help to learn a foreign language, the need of which arises only when he is to visit that country either for employment or as a tourist. So IPA comes to rescue and the person is relieved of learning that particular script of that language.

Though some languages can be learnt through roman script with simple diacritic marks