United States
Joined 5232 days ago

165 posts - 211 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Persian

Message 1 of 76
30 December 2010 at 3:48am | IP Logged 
Background
I have been self-studying Persian for about 8 months now. I tend to go through periods where I study like crazy, then don't study at all for months. This leaves me constantly trying to catch up! I enjoy reading logs and I think having a log to be accountable to would be a good thing for me.

So far, I have completed parts of the following programs:
65 lessons at EasyPersian.com
30 lessons of Pimsleur Farsi
10 lessons of TY Modern Persian
4 lessons of Living Language Persian

I'd rate myself at a high beginner level, I suppose. I'm much better at reading than I am at speaking.

Goals
Some of my language goals are a bit silly. I'd like to be able to:

Watch various Persian TV shows and understand the jokes
Have a basic understand of any Persian pop song I hear
Be able to comfortably have conversations in Persian

I'd like to focus on all my skills, but speaking will be the biggest challenge because I am so shy.

Materials
I plan to make use of the following materials:

My Anki decks: 1 with full sentences and 1 with words and short phrases
Living Language Farsi: I like how it focuses on speaking AND spelling in the casual style.
TY Modern Persian: This book is a bit more formal than LL. I find it quite frustrating to work through since the author seems to leave out a lot of information that is necessary to complete the exercises.
EasyPersian.com: I enjoy this site. The quiz each lesson often feels tedious, but I feel the owner does a great job getting users to review. I don't often forget the things I have learned from EasyPersian.
I also have access to plenty native materials when I reach that level.

Etc.
Since I am only studying one language for the TAC, I am trying to learn a lot about Iranian culture too. I plan to share music, recipes, movies, articles and more in this log. I welcome all comments!