Japan
Joined 4634 days ago

1031 posts - 1571 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese, Portuguese

Message 1 of 76
18 July 2012 at 3:13am | IP Logged 
Nine friggin' years.

That's how long I've been in Japan, yet my Japanese is only at an upper beginner/lower
intermediate level. I have only me to blame. I'd study devotedly for a month, then
drop my studies for the next seven or eight. Wasted time.

It's no excuse, but it was easy for me not to study Japanese. I speak English
at work and at home with my Japanese wife. Even though I work as a teacher in a public
high school, I'm paid to use my native English - and not a word of Japanese - in the
classroom. I only use Japanese when I go shopping. I'm like a nine-year tourist.

Moreover, I've realized that, after nine years here, I really don't like the
Japanese language
. I love the country, the food, and the people, but not the
language. It's not pleasing to the ear like, for example, French or Portuguese. Plus
it has a complicated writing system. The pronunciation for 日本 is "nihon" or
"nippon", but simply swap those two kanji and make 本日, then it becomes "honjitsu."
What?

To sum it up: It's hard to be motivated to learn a language when you don't like it.
However, I've put in the time here, I have a nice career, a nice wife, and a nice
pet rabbit, plus I'm paying back the loan on a condominium we bought a few years ago
after our wedding. I'm here to stay. So I must find a way to perfect my Japanese.
That is my purpose, my mission.

I have some reservations about starting this log, because I'm afraid it won't be a
"log" per se, but rather a place to whine about my struggles. You don't get popularity
ratings that way. :) However, it seems that nobody else I know is going through this
type of thing, so I'm hoping that a few of you all will encourage me to keep my head
down and keep at it.

Edited by kujichagulia on 24 December 2013 at 4:57am

1 person has voted this message useful

kujichagulia
Japan