United Kingdom
Joined 5560 days ago

1197 posts - 1487 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, French
Studies: Welsh, Russian, Japanese, Slovenian, Greek, Italian

Message 9 of 92
26 December 2012 at 5:49pm | IP Logged 
Hi Марк,

Having a degree in Russian means that I studied Russian at uni (among other things), and
the Gulag was the Soviet government agency, established under the Cheka, which
administered the forced labour camps during the Stalinist era from the 1930s to the
1950s.

Jack
1 person has voted this message useful

Solfrid Cristin
Heptaglot
Winner TAC 2011 & 2012
Norway
Joined 5128 days ago

4143 posts - 8864 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, Spanish, Swedish, French, English, German, Italian
Studies: Russian

Message 10 of 92
27 December 2012 at 12:33am | IP Logged 
Congratulations on the Greek book and the mini iPad. Christmas does have it's advantages, doesn't it :-) I
love that you do your log this in the languages you study. I must admit that it s a lot easier to follow you in
German than in Russian, though! I understood everything you wrote in German, but I would not have
understood the Russian text without the translation. I trust that this will be better at the end of the year!

LanguageSponge
Triglot
United Kingdom
Joined 5560 days ago

1197 posts - 1487 votes 

Message 11 of 92
27 December 2012 at 9:14am | IP Logged 
Thank you Cristina. I am not very technically gifted myself and it will probably take me
a while to understand quite how much the iPad can do. I'm convinced there are probably
loads of apps that will be useful to me while studying Greek and Russian so I am spending
the days before the beginning of the challenge seeking them out. I am glad you understood
all the German without translation, but I was surprised that that was ever in any doubt.
I am pretty sure your Russian will be better by the end of the year. Team MIR will make
sure of that.

Jack

Марк
Russian Federation
Joined 4850 days ago

2096 posts - 2972 votes 
Speaks: Russian*